Skip to content
Yu-Gi-Oh Gets First New Monster Type In Over Five Years

Yu-Gi-Oh Gets First New Monster Type In Over Five Years

And there is finally new Chimera support.

Yu-Gi-Oh's first new monster type since 2017, Illusionist, has been revealed and will make its debut in the upcoming new set Duelist Nexus.

The first few monsters that will be representing this type have been revealed ahead of the set's Japanese release in a few days, as reported by @YuGiOhNewsTCG, with the most exciting being the new Fusion monster, Chimera the Illusion Magical Beast, which is part of the new support for the archetype. Chimera the Flying Mythical Beast was one of the cards that original protagonist Yugi Muto used in the Battle City Arc of the anime series, making it the first time the monster and its fusion materials have seen modern iterations in more than 20 years.

Chimera the Illusion Magical Beast will be released alongside a less powerful retrain of Flying Mythical Beast, titled Chimera the Phantom Beast King. The fusional materials, Gazelle the King of Mythical Beasts and Berformet, have received the same treatment, while a new spell archetype spell card, Chimera Fusion, is being added within the set. Two other new cards, titled Mirror Sword Knight and Cornfield Coatl, also fall under the Illusionist typing, and they have effects that speed up the process of summoning the new Chimera Fusion monsters by allowing players to quickly get Chimera Fusion into their hand.

RELATEDRarest Yu-Gi-Oh! Card In The World Will Be Sold After 18 Years

While Japanese players will be able to get their hands on the set on April 22, Western fans will have to wait a few months extra, with it releasing in Europe and the UK on July 27 and in the US on July 28. With that being said, the West will be receiving the Cyberstorm Access set on May 4 in Europe and the UK, and May 5 in the US.

Yu-Gi-Oh is currently in the midst of its 25th-anniversary celebration, with the Legendary Collection: 25th Anniversary Edition set being released on April 21 in commemoration. The set is essentially just a straight reprint of the original Legendary Collection released all the way back in 2010. It includes six promo cards: the three Egyptian Gods, Blue-Eyes White Dragon, Dark Magician, and Red-Eyes Black Dragon, as well as six packs. These packs are from six of the original sets, including Legend Of Blue Eyes White Dragon, Metal Raiders, Spell Ruler, Pharaoh's Servant, Dark Crisis, and Invasion of Chaos. Additionally, these reprinted packs can be bought separately.


Previous article Yu-Gi-Oh!: The 10 Most Valuable Cards From Metal Raiders
Next article The Yu-Gi-Oh! World Championship 2023 Will Happen This August

Leave a comment

Comments must be approved before appearing

* Required fields